Mandala No.10: Harmony

Harmony 2
Mandala No.10: Harmony by Judy Backhouse (copyright)

Harmony reflects my favourite colours – pinks, lilacs and mauves, with touches of deep purple. I love the way these colours interact and here I have experimented with them alone and mixed. I find the interactions between these colours epitomise harmony.

The shifts in colour as well as the repeated lines create a vibration in this picture, that reminds me of the vibrations of sound. For me its like a standing wave pattern that has been set up on the canvas. I can hear it singing to me. It’s not a simple sound – there is complexity in the multiple layers and patterns.

Harmony detail 5
Standing waves create the harmony

Harmony is painted in acrylic on a gallery-wrapped canvas slightly bigger than my other mandalas at 60cm x 60cm. The sides of the canvase are painted pink and it is finished with matt acrylic varnish. The picture is ready to hang.

Harmony detail 6
Detail showing the edge of the canvas

 

One thought on “Mandala No.10: Harmony

Leave a Reply

